Plaque: Faryner's shop
Erection date: 1986
Near this site stood the shop belonging to Thomas Faryner, the King's baker, in which the Great Fire of September 1666 began.
Presented by the Worshipful Company of Bakers to mark the 500th anniversary of their charter granted by King Henry VII in 1486.
Site: Fire, bakers and Hooke (4 memorials)
EC3, Monument Street
The Hooke plaque is the gray square laid into the pavement in front of the strange modern hut-like structure.
The Faryner plaque is on the lowest corner slab of concrete on the charming building behind, to the left (Faryners House, Richard Seifert, 1973).
The lost plaque was on a 1681 building on the site where the fire started, (probably) the site now occupied by the Seifert building.
The bronze MDCLXVI plaque is laid into the cobbles in the middle of the road immediately south of the Faryner plaque. In our photo it's hidden by the hut thing. Probably installed 2006-9 but we don't know.