mobile nav

Memorial

Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse

Credit for this entry to:
Alan Patient of www.plaquesoflondon.co.uk

Plaque: Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse

Inscription

The Main Guardhouse, 1788. Built to the order of the Master-General of the Ordnance. Up to 1844 security at Royal Arsenal was provided by the Army, then by the Metropolitan Police until the War Department Constabulary, now the Ministry of Defence Police, took over in 1927.

Site: Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse (1 memorial)

SE18, Number One Street, Woolwich Arsenal

By 2017 two non-memorial plaques had appeared: a bronze rectangle in the portico, which reads: "The pedestrian access through the main guard house was opened by Mr David Broughton C Eng, FI Mech E Director General Defence Quality Assurance on 25 June 1986. It replaces the main entrance to the Royal Arsenal built in 1829, the Beresford Square Gate, which was closed on 10 January 1984 following a sale of land to permit road development."

And the red plaque at the right, for the record, reads "Main guard house Grade II listed building built 1718 {sic}, RARE, Royal Arsenal Riverside Explore".

Go to map of other memorials in this area

This section lists the subjects commemorated on the memorial on this page:
Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse

Information Subjects commemorated

50528

Royal Arsenal Main Guardhouse

Built to the order of the Master-General of the Ordnance. Up to 1844 security...

Read More