At London Sideways we learn that in 1237 the City of London, short of water, were granted a piece of land beside the Tyburn River so that they could lay conduits to carry water to the City. This lasted until the 18th century when the arrival of the New River meant that the City no longer needed the Tyburn waters. We don't understand why the City came all this way when the River Fleet, for example was closer.
This section lists the memorials where the subject on this page is commemorated:
Marylebone conduit
Commemorated ati
Other Subjects
Albergo del Pellegrino
This building was used as a hotel, 'The Pilgrim' until about 1930. It was demolished following WW2 bomb damage. The photo shows the east side and Byron's window was on the first floor, fourth fro...
Grapes Tavern
First mentioned in 1842. It occupies the site of the former Christopher Inn. On its northern side it still retains the red brick fronts of several 18th century houses. It has since returned to its ...
Adelphi Theatre Restaurant
Grade II Listed. In 1878 Agostino and Stefano Gatti bought the Adelphi Theatre lease and the adjacent building then called the Marble Halls. In the building next to the theatre Spencer Chadwick d...
White Lion pub, Islington
We can find no information about this pub.
Previously viewed
Newgate Street Clock
EC1, Newgate Street
The size of this "wandering hour" clock, a 2 metre diameter, makes it unique. The arms of the Clockmakers company are at the centre of th...
Emperor Charles V
Born Ghent. Ruled over large chunks of Europe and the Spanish colonies in America, the Caribbean, and Asia. Catherine of Aragon was his aunt, and so, despite Henry VIII and Charles being allied for...
Comments are provided by Facebook, please ensure you are signed in here to see them