mobile nav


Westminster City Council

Group  From 1965 

The ancient parish of St Margaret's was divided into St Margaret's and St John's in 1727 but it was still run as a single vestry. In 1855 the two parishes were reformed into the Westminster District but St Margaret and St John continued to have a nominal existence until 1922.

Westminster City Council was created in 1965 from the former area of the Metropolitan Boroughs of St Marylebone, Paddington and the smaller Metropolitan Borough of Westminster.

See other memorials in this area

This section lists the memorials where the subject on this page is commemorated:
Westminster City Council

Information Commemorated at

Amsterdam 700th Anniversary

These gardens were renamed Rembrandt Gardens on 2 May 1975 to commemorate the...

Read More

Approved extension

A misunderstanding? A joke? Do the owners now claim they have an English Heri...

Read More

Trees for Westminster

To celebrate Westminster City Council's Quatercentenary HRH the Duke of Kent,...

Read More

United Nations 40th Anniversary

Presented to the City of Westminster by the United Nations Association, to ce...

Read More

This section lists the memorials created by the subject on this page:
Westminster City Council

Information Creations

Show all 164

50 years of peace

The two seated allies are unidentified at the site but with the assistance of...

Read More


John Adams-Acton, sculptor, 1831 - 1910, lived here 1882 - 1906. Westminster ...

Read More

Alexis Soyer

Alexis Soyer, 1810 - 1858, chef, author of cookbooks, inventor, lived here. C...

Read More

Alhambra Theatre

Theatreland - heart of the performing arts in London. Alhambra Theatre On t...

Read More

Ambrose Godfrey

Ambrose Godfrey, 1660 - 1741, chemist and inventor of the fire extinguisher, ...

Read More