mobile nav


Society of British Artists

Group  From 1823 

Categories: Art

The following text was copied from the picture source website:
The Royal Society of British Artists was established in 1823 by a small group of artists who wished to form an alternative to the Royal Academy. One of their main concerns was to establish an alternative exhibition venue to the academy and these efforts were rewarded when enough money was raised to commission John Nash to design and build the Society's first gallery in Suffolk Street.

Further confirmation of the important position that the society held in 19th Century Britain was the granting of the Royal Charter by Queen Victoria in August 1887.

Since its foundation the society has had some 36 Presidents, including distinguished names such as James McNeill Whistler, Walter Sickert and more recently Peter Greenham RA.

See other memorials in this area

This section lists the memorials where the subject on this page is commemorated:
Society of British Artists

Information Commemorated at

Hobhouse Court - naming

This court is named after Sir John Cam Hobhouse, Bt. PC, GCB, 1786 -1869, cre...

Read More

Hobhouse Court - restoration

Hobhouse Court. This stone unveiled by Sir Charles Hobhouse Bt., TD, on 23 M...

Read More