Queens Wood Highgate
This wood comprising 50 acres was opened for the use and enjoyment of the public as an open space for ever, on July 23rd 1898 by Her Royal Highness the Duchess of Albany.
C.F. Cory Wright JP, DL., Chairman of the Hornsey District Council.
Previously known as Churchyard Bottom Wood, the wood was renamed in honour of Queen Victoria when Hornsey Urban District Council purchased it from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in 1898.
Site: Queens Wood (1 memorial)
N10, Queen's Wood, The café
This charming cottage features in "Memories of Highgate from a Keeper's Lodge" by Liza Chivers (2nd edition 1999). Liza grew up in the Keeper's Lodge of Queens Wood, Highgate (now an ecology centre and café). A unique memoir of life before and after the first world war, when Highgate was still a rural as well as an urban community.