mobile nav

Memorial

Lambeth Chapel Lambeth Chapel

Plaque: Lambeth Chapel

Erection date: 1/7/1950

Inscription

This stone laid by George Brittain and Thomas Tiplady on 1st July 1950 marks the rising again after destruction by enemy action 1939-45 of the church founded in 1739.

1739 was the year after Wesley's 'Aldersgate experience' and the year in which he formed the Methodist Society in England. It's not the year that the first church building was erected on this site, which was 1808.

Site: Lambeth Chapel (1 memorial)

SE1, Lambeth Road, Lambeth Mission and St Mary

The plaque is under the noticeboard that you can just see in our photo on the very dark wall.

'The Word', the sculptured figure on the front wall is by Bainbridge Copnall and represents a Street Preacher. It was carved from stone reclaimed from bomb-damaged buildings.

The remaining congregation of St Mary-at-Lambeth (now the Garden Museum) united with the Lambeth Mission when their church was deconsecrated in 1972.

View this memorial on a map

This section lists the subjects commemorated on the memorial on this page:
Lambeth Chapel

Information Subjects commemorated

Lambeth Chapel

2017 the church was planning to redevelop the site and their Public Consultat...

Read More

World War 2

Sorry, we've done no research on WW2, it's just too big a subject. But do vis...

Read More

This section lists the subjects who helped to create/erect the memorial on this page:
Lambeth Chapel

Information Created by

George Brittain

Mayor of Lambeth 1919-20. Wrote 'The Musings of an Octogenarian", from where ...

Read More

Thomas Tiplady

Born Yorkshire. Raised as a Methodist. Became a minister in the East End, a c...

Read More