Erection date: 10/3/1885
This stone was laid by Mrs J. D. Allcroft, March 10th 1885.
J. C. Taylor MA – Vicar
C. Burgess Smith, W. H. Goddrun - Churchwardens
Site: Harmondsworth Vicarage Hall (1 memorial)
UB7, Harmondsworth High Street
The plaque was a foundation stone laid into the wall of the building but it now serves as a memorial to the building which was demolished after 1972. All that remains is this wall and plaque. The very large vicarage itself is off to the left of our photo.
We only really collected this plaque so that we could get Harmondsworth onto London Remembers. It is a small village, just half a mile away from Heathrow, but being alongside, rather than at either end of the runways, it is blissfully free of aircraft noise. We were there to visit the medieval Great Barn which is an astonishing building, and the village is charming, so well worth a visit. The Barn is managed by English Heritage and has limited opening hours. Proposals for a third runway at Heathrow are not good news for this village.